The Benefits of my Love for Music

Carla J. Curtis
2 min readJan 28, 2021
Photo by dusan jovic on Unsplash

Tamala Mann.

Blake Shelton.

Jonathan McReynolds.

Luther Vandross.

Jason Aldean

Beyonce’.

Jennifer Hudson.

Drake.

What do these names have in common?

They are all talented singers.

And I love music.

Their music has on many days motivated and soothed me. In fact, music has always been a powerful emotional tool for me.

This last year has been tough with having to deal with the pandemic, being an essential worker, and dealing with life overall. To help me get through the difficult times, relax my mind and body, and to improve my mood, I have increased listening to music as a healthy coping mechanism.

Listening to Tamala Mann’s “God Provides” often calms me and brings tears to my eyes. Closing my eyes and listening closely to the words gives me hope and reminds me that tough times do not last always.

As a music lover, I enjoy listening to gospel, jazz, classical, hip hop, country, and R&B.

Yet, when I am dealing with tough times, my “go-to” music is normally gospel. But when I want to get energized and motivated to do my chores and stay…

--

--

Carla J. Curtis

A therapist and blogger in the areas of life transitions, mental health, personal growth and development, and self-awareness. http://carlajcurtis.blogspot.com/.